Team GB

British Olympic Association confirm appointees for Athletes’ Commission

Six athletes have been appointed onto the British Olympic Association’s (BOA) Athletes’ Commission after voting closed on the election of new members.


Abbie Brown (Rugby Sevens), Andrew Matthews (Bobsleigh), Eve Muirhead (Curling) and Bryony Page (Trampoline) will all join the Commission for the first time in 2022 whilst Adam Gemili (Athletics) and Lizzy Yarnold (Skeleton) have been re-elected for a second term.


In total, over 600 athletes voted in the election, with eligibility given to any athlete who has competed for Team GB in the last 13 years, or those who are Team GB Gold Club members.


Of the existing Commission, six members’ terms have drawn to a close this December with two of these athletes – Gemili and Yarnold – standing for re-election. Katherine Grainger, James Rodwell and Joanna Rowsell Shand’s terms all come to a close at the end of 2021, whilst Lizzie Simmonds replaces Ben Hawes as the new Athletes’ Commission Chair following a vote earlier this year.


Incoming Athletes’ Commission Chair Lizzie Simmonds, said: “After a successful election process, I am delighted to welcome four new members to the Commission and to see Adam and Lizzy return for a second term each. It is an honour to have the opportunity to work with such talented and passionate individuals and I am excited to continue our role representing the Team GB athlete community.


“A huge thank you to the members leaving the group at the end of the year – their insights and contributions have been invaluable, and it has been a privilege to serve alongside them.


“I would like to extend a special thanks to Ben who has been a member of the Commission since its inception in 2010, and the group’s Chair since 2014. Ben’s leadership and commitment has been exemplary throughout, and he continues to be a true ambassador for Team GB athletes and British Olympic sport. I look forward to building on Ben’s success throughout my term as Chair.”



BOA’s Athletes’ Commission:

Chair: Lizzie Simmonds (Swimming)

EOC Athletes’ Commission representative: Alistair Brownlee (Triathlon)

Eric Boateng (Basketball)

Abbie Brown (Rugby Sevens)

Aimee Fuller (Snowboard)

Adam Gemili (Athletics)

Andrew Matthews (Bobsleigh)

Eve Muirhead (Curling)

Bryony Page (Trampoline)

Liam Tancock (Swimming)

Kristian Thomas (Artistic Gymnastics)

Georgie Twigg (Hockey)

Lizzy Yarnold (Skeleton)


About The British Olympic Association:

The British Olympic Association (BOA) Athletes’ Commission is a Committee of the BOA Board created to bring the perspective and expertise of athletes to the many initiatives and programmes operated by the BOA. It was formed in 2010 and meets every two months.



The Commission is made up of a mixture of past and present athletes from team and individual, summer and winter sports. The Chair is responsible for feeding the views of the Commission back to the BOA Board. The Chair and Vice-Chair are also athlete representatives on the BOA’s National Olympic Committee (NOC).